The Cairngorms

Summary for The Cairngorms

The Cairngorms is an area in Scotland as defined by the SMC.The area contains 4 regions called , , & .There are 18 munros around here.The highest munro is Beinn Bhreac [Glen Derry] at a height of 931 metres .The smallest munro is Ben Macdui at a height of 1309 metres .

Printer-friendly version | |
  • Transport

    Anonymous's picture

    Hi, we are thinking of dropping a car at Blair Atholl and walking through
    To Braemar. Do you have any specific details of the summer bus
    from Braemar to Pitlochry such as times and cost. Do we have to
    book in advance? Thanks

    Jeff Haddow

    Posted by Anonymous, 6 years 44 weeks ago
  • Reply to comment | munro-madness

    Anonymous's picture

    Thanks for finally writing about >Reply to comment | munro-madness

    Posted by Anonymous, 6 years 46 weeks ago

Details for: The Cairngorms

The Cairngorms was made a National Park in September 2003 because it is a unique and special place that needs to be cared for - both for the wildlife and countryside it contains and for the people that live in it, manage it and visit it. It is Britain's largest national Park.

The Cairngorms National Park has the largest area of arctic mountain landscape in the UK at its heart, with diverse communities around it. It is home to 16,000 people and 25% of Britain's threatened birds, animals, and plants. It includes moorlands, forests, rivers, lochs and glens.

A inclined railway opened here in late 2001, running from a base station at 637 metres up to the Ptarmigan Centre (café / shop), situated at 1097 metres, 150 metres from the summit of Cairn Gorm.