The Islands

Summary for The Islands

The Islands is an area in Scotland as defined by the SMC.The area contains 2 regions called & .There are 13 munros around here.The highest munro is Am Basteir at a height of 934 metres .The smallest munro is Sgurr nan Gillean at a height of 964 metres .

Printer-friendly version | |

Details for: The Islands

Scotland has over 790 offshore islands, the islands of Mull and Skye are the only two islands that have munros on them.

The Isle of Skye

The Isle of Skye, commonly known as Skye, is the largest and most northerly island in the Inner Hebrides of Scotland. In Scottish Gaelic it is commonly referred to as An t-Eilean Sgithanach ("The Winged Isle").

The island has some of the most dramatic and challenging mountain terrain in Scotland, including the Cuillin.

The Isle of Mull

(or simply Mull; Muile in Scottish Gaelic) is the second largest island of the Inner Hebrides, off the west coast of Scotland.

The highest peak on the island is Ben More (3169 ft / 966 metres) and is munro status