A' Mhaighdean

Summary for A' Mhaighdean

A' Mhaighdean is an munro in Scotand and is located in the area Loch Maree to Loch Broom as defined by SMC. (and lies in region known as Letterewe / Fisherfield )

9
Average: 9 (1 vote)
Your rating: None

HeightGrid Ref.PronunciationMeaning
967 metres / 3173 feetNH007749Uh VaygianThe maiden
LocationAccess
Loch Maree to Loch BroomFisherfield Estate, tel:01445 760302
Letterewe Estate, tel: 01445 760302
Printer-friendly version | |

Details for A' Mhaighdean

A' Mhaighdean is arguably one of the most remote peaks in the highlands situated deep in the centre of Letterewe wilderness and is special to munro baggers by great merit of it's remoteness. The hill rises gracefully from Carnmore Bothy in a series of rocky steps from which the south-west cliffs drop steeply down to Dubh Loch. It is a magnificent fortified mountain with impressive cliffs also boasting arguably the greatest viewpoint in the united kingdom.

The north-east drops down to a high col (750m) which connects to the munro Ruadh Stac Mor. On the south-west Beinn Tarsuinn also of munro status is connected to A' Mhaighdean via a broad grassy bealach.

All routes to climb A' Mhaighdean have long approaches and the area has a good network of stalker paths. Approaches can be from Poolewe or if combining with some more munros Corrie Hallie.

The number of registered munro-madness users who have climbed A' Mhaighdean is Fifteen

Maria's picture
Maria marked A' Mhaighdean as bagged on Mon 14 Nov 2011
Brian's picture
Brian marked A' Mhaighdean as bagged on Mon 26 Sep 2011
billmyl's picture
billmyl marked A' Mhaighdean as bagged on Fri 26 Aug 2011
potace's picture
potace marked A' Mhaighdean as bagged on Tue 12 Jul 2011
Tim Hawkes's picture
Tim Hawkes marked A' Mhaighdean as bagged on Wed 02 Jun 2010
grahammclaren's picture
grahammclaren marked A' Mhaighdean as bagged on Sun 23 May 2010
gary's picture
gary marked A' Mhaighdean as bagged on Fri 05 Mar 2010
reido_chris_@hotmail.com's picture
reido_chris_@ho... marked A' Mhaighdean as bagged on Sun 01 Nov 2009
Terry's picture
Terry marked A' Mhaighdean as bagged on Mon 24 Aug 2009
vsheriff's picture
vsheriff marked A' Mhaighdean as bagged on Sun 05 Jul 2009
ness64's picture
ness64 marked A' Mhaighdean as bagged on Mon 15 Jun 2009
Bill Campbell's picture
Bill Campbell marked A' Mhaighdean as bagged on Tue 05 May 2009
stu's picture
stu marked A' Mhaighdean as bagged on Fri 03 Apr 2009
Fhuaran's picture
Fhuaran marked A' Mhaighdean as bagged on Mon 16 Feb 2009
tony meeson's picture
tony meeson marked A' Mhaighdean as bagged on Sun 25 Jan 2009