Beinn a 'Chochuill

Summary for Beinn a 'Chochuill

Beinn a 'Chochuill is an munro in Scotand and is located in the area Strath Orchy to Loch Leven as defined by SMC. (and lies in region known as Cruachan )

6
Average: 6 (2 votes)
Your rating: None

HeightGrid Ref.PronunciationMeaning
980 metres / 3215 feetNN109328Bine yuh ChochellHill of the shell
LocationAccess
Strath Orchy to Loch Leventel: 01831 200638
Printer-friendly version | |

Details for Beinn a 'Chochuill

Beinn a 'Chochuill & Beinn Eunaich are the highest peaks that lie on a 12km ridge between Loch Etive and Glen Strae. While Beinn a 'Chochuill is dwarfed by it's south western neighbour Ben Cruachan, this munro still has a distinctive shape having an elongated ridge stretching west to east. Beinn a' Chochuill is linked to Beinn Eunaich on the east by a fine narrow ridge which is grassy on the south, but fairly steep and rocky on its northern side. Ben Cruachan massif on the south is linked via a bealach at 550 metres.

From the ridge there are excellent views of Cruachan's westerly peaks. The usual approach is via the Hydro track from Castles Farm on the south.

The number of registered munro-madness users who have climbed Beinn a 'Chochuill is Thirty-Five

raymondefc's picture
raymondefc marked Beinn a 'Chochuill as bagged on Sat 11 Sep 2010
Dale Robinson's picture
Dale Robinson marked Beinn a 'Chochuill as bagged on Sat 07 Aug 2010
cjmead's picture
cjmead marked Beinn a 'Chochuill as bagged on Sat 19 Jun 2010
gary's picture
gary marked Beinn a 'Chochuill as bagged on Fri 05 Mar 2010
reido_chris_@hotmail.com's picture
reido_chris_@ho... marked Beinn a 'Chochuill as bagged on Sun 01 Nov 2009
Robroyston's picture
Robroyston marked Beinn a 'Chochuill as bagged on Tue 29 Sep 2009
Peter.Lord's picture
Peter.Lord marked Beinn a 'Chochuill as bagged on Wed 16 Sep 2009
monarchming's picture
monarchming marked Beinn a 'Chochuill as bagged on Sun 30 Aug 2009
dgb's picture
dgb marked Beinn a 'Chochuill as bagged on Thu 27 Aug 2009
Terry's picture
Terry marked Beinn a 'Chochuill as bagged on Mon 24 Aug 2009
toma's picture
toma marked Beinn a 'Chochuill as bagged on Tue 18 Aug 2009
Tim Hawkes's picture
Tim Hawkes marked Beinn a 'Chochuill as bagged on Thu 30 Jul 2009
grahammclaren's picture
grahammclaren marked Beinn a 'Chochuill as bagged on Mon 13 Jul 2009
Sandman's picture
Sandman marked Beinn a 'Chochuill as bagged on Tue 02 Jun 2009
wellsie's picture
wellsie marked Beinn a 'Chochuill as bagged on Tue 19 May 2009