Ben Starav

Summary for Ben Starav

Ben Starav is an munro in Scotand and is located in the area Strath Orchy to Loch Leven as defined by SMC. (and lies in region known as Etive )

7.33333
Average: 7.3 (3 votes)
Your rating: None

HeightGrid Ref.PronunciationMeaning
1078 metres / 3537 feetNN125427Ben StaravHill of rustling
LocationAccess
Strath Orchy to Loch LevenBlackmount Estate, tel: 01838 400255
Printer-friendly version | |

Details for Ben Starav

Ben Starav rises proudly from sea level as it's north eastern ridge drops down to the shores of Loch Etive. The most straight forward ascent is up a will defined northern ridge, reached by crossing a little bridge just north of Coileitir as described in Ben Starav Munros.

Ben Starav summit is the meeting place five rocky ridges. Ridges of interest are the north ridge which is the longest (nearly 3km) that splits in two but both lead down to Loch Etive the eastern one is usually climbed.

The ridge on the north east drops and rises to Stop Coire Dheirg (1028 metres) and a col on the east which drops to 766 metres which leads onto the munro Glas Bheinn Mhor further east or the munro Beinn nan Aighenan to the south of the col.

The summit of Ben Starav is littered with Etive granite bolder pavestone.

The number of registered munro-madness users who have climbed Ben Starav is Thirty

Chis's picture
Chis marked Ben Starav as bagged on Mon 28 Jun 2010
potace's picture
potace marked Ben Starav as bagged on Mon 15 Mar 2010
gary's picture
gary marked Ben Starav as bagged on Fri 05 Mar 2010
reido_chris_@hotmail.com's picture
reido_chris_@ho... marked Ben Starav as bagged on Sun 01 Nov 2009
Robroyston's picture
Robroyston marked Ben Starav as bagged on Tue 29 Sep 2009
monarchming's picture
monarchming marked Ben Starav as bagged on Sun 30 Aug 2009
Tim Hawkes's picture
Tim Hawkes marked Ben Starav as bagged on Thu 30 Jul 2009
grahammclaren's picture
grahammclaren marked Ben Starav as bagged on Mon 13 Jul 2009
Wallie59's picture
Wallie59 marked Ben Starav as bagged on Fri 19 Jun 2009
Sandman's picture
Sandman marked Ben Starav as bagged on Tue 02 Jun 2009
wellsie's picture
wellsie marked Ben Starav as bagged on Tue 19 May 2009
Alison Terrey's picture
Alison Terrey marked Ben Starav as bagged on Tue 28 Apr 2009
Fhuaran's picture
Fhuaran marked Ben Starav as bagged on Mon 16 Feb 2009
tony meeson's picture
tony meeson marked Ben Starav as bagged on Sun 25 Jan 2009
bobthelomond's picture
bobthelomond marked Ben Starav as bagged on Sat 27 Dec 2008