Cairn Gorm

Summary for Cairn Gorm

Cairn Gorm is an munro in Scotand and is located in the area The Cairngorms as defined by SMC. (and lies in region known as Coylumbridge )

5.25
Average: 5.3 (4 votes)
Your rating: None

HeightGrid Ref.PronunciationMeaning
1244 metres / 4081 feetNJ005040Cairn GormBlue cairn like peak
LocationAccess
The CairngormsAbernethy Forest Reserve, tel: 01479 861703
Printer-friendly version | |

Details for Cairn Gorm

Cairn Gorm (also commonly referred to as Cairngorm) is a mountain in the Scottish Highlands overlooking Strathspey and the town of Aviemore. At an elevation of 1,244 m (4,081 ft) it is one of the ten highest summits in the United Kingdom. It has given its name to the whole range, although these hills are properly known as Am Monadh Ruadh (the Red Hills) rather than the Cairngorms. Cairn Gorm is the most prominent of the Cairngorm mountains in the view from Speyside, but it is not the highest, that honour falling to Ben Macdui.

Much of the north-western slopes of the mountain are given over to downhill skiing developments concentrated in Coire Cas. As well as ski tows and bulldozed tracks this corrie is also now home to a controversial funicular railway.

The next corrie south of Coire Cas, Coire an t-Sneachda, is separated from the skiing area by a ridge known as Fiacaill a'Choire Chais. The southern side of Cairn Gorm overlooks the remote loch known as Loch Avon (pronounced Loch A'an) which is generally regarded as the very heart of the

The number of registered munro-madness users who have climbed Cairn Gorm is Seventy

BMrider's picture
BMrider marked Cairn Gorm as bagged on Fri 21 Oct 2011
Brian's picture
Brian marked Cairn Gorm as bagged on Wed 21 Sep 2011
billmyl's picture
billmyl marked Cairn Gorm as bagged on Fri 26 Aug 2011
Milimut's picture
Milimut marked Cairn Gorm as bagged on Mon 15 Aug 2011
roganjosh's picture
roganjosh marked Cairn Gorm as bagged on Wed 10 Aug 2011
GRABOYLE@GMAIL.COM's picture
GRABOYLE@GMAIL.COM marked Cairn Gorm as bagged on Sat 21 May 2011
alan's picture
alan marked Cairn Gorm as bagged on Mon 02 May 2011
habu66's picture
habu66 marked Cairn Gorm as bagged on Fri 15 Apr 2011
andyp's picture
andyp marked Cairn Gorm as bagged on Thu 03 Feb 2011
the_loon's picture
the_loon marked Cairn Gorm as bagged on Tue 30 Nov 2010
markcooper's picture
markcooper marked Cairn Gorm as bagged on Wed 13 Oct 2010
ashog's picture
ashog marked Cairn Gorm as bagged on Mon 27 Sep 2010
kjudge6's picture
kjudge6 marked Cairn Gorm as bagged on Sat 18 Sep 2010
raymondefc's picture
raymondefc marked Cairn Gorm as bagged on Sat 11 Sep 2010
pbaconsult's picture
pbaconsult marked Cairn Gorm as bagged on Sun 11 Jul 2010