Lochnagar - Cac Carn Beag

Summary for Lochnagar - Cac Carn Beag

Lochnagar - Cac Carn Beag is an munro in Scotand and is located in the area Glen Shee to Mount Keen as defined by SMC. (and lies in region known as The Lochnagar Hills )

6.5
Average: 6.5 (6 votes)
Your rating: None

HeightGrid Ref.PronunciationMeaning
1155 metres / 3789 feetNO243861Kac Karn BaykPass of the small cairn (Little noisy loch)
LocationAccess
Glen Shee to Mount KeenHillphone, tel: 01575 550335
Printer-friendly version | |

Details for Lochnagar - Cac Carn Beag

Cac Carn Beag stands at the north eastern end of The Lochnagar Hills which is a twisting ridge made up from 5 munros that rise on the western side of Loch Muick by the Spittal of Glenmuick. Cac Carn Beag is the highest summit and lies on the north western edge of this great mastiff usually called Lochnagar. The munros finest feature is a north-facing corrie around which most of the subsidiary tops as well as the main peak sit. Cac Carn Beag is popular with hillwalkers at all times of the year.

From the summit there are fine views over Balmoral Forest to the northern Cairngorms

The most common route of ascent is from Glen Muick. Care should be taken on the summit in poor visibility; the plateau is mostly devoid of obvious features and has steep cliffs on its northern edge.

The number of registered munro-madness users who have climbed Lochnagar - Cac Carn Beag is Fifty-Two

braesidebagger1's picture
braesidebagger1 marked Lochnagar - Cac Carn Beag as bagged on Sat 05 Nov 2011
Brian's picture
Brian marked Lochnagar - Cac Carn Beag as bagged on Wed 21 Sep 2011
pick67's picture
pick67 marked Lochnagar - Cac Carn Beag as bagged on Sat 03 Sep 2011
billmyl's picture
billmyl marked Lochnagar - Cac Carn Beag as bagged on Fri 26 Aug 2011
Rachelmaud's picture
Rachelmaud marked Lochnagar - Cac Carn Beag as bagged on Tue 03 May 2011
alan's picture
alan marked Lochnagar - Cac Carn Beag as bagged on Mon 02 May 2011
Godwit's picture
Godwit marked Lochnagar - Cac Carn Beag as bagged on Wed 26 Jan 2011
the_loon's picture
the_loon marked Lochnagar - Cac Carn Beag as bagged on Tue 30 Nov 2010
ashog's picture
ashog marked Lochnagar - Cac Carn Beag as bagged on Mon 27 Sep 2010
raymondefc's picture
raymondefc marked Lochnagar - Cac Carn Beag as bagged on Sat 11 Sep 2010
Chis's picture
Chis marked Lochnagar - Cac Carn Beag as bagged on Mon 28 Jun 2010
cjmead's picture
cjmead marked Lochnagar - Cac Carn Beag as bagged on Sat 19 Jun 2010
kjudge6's picture
kjudge6 marked Lochnagar - Cac Carn Beag as bagged on Fri 21 May 2010
potace's picture
potace marked Lochnagar - Cac Carn Beag as bagged on Mon 15 Mar 2010
toma's picture
toma marked Lochnagar - Cac Carn Beag as bagged on Sun 14 Feb 2010