Sgurr Ban

Summary for Sgurr Ban

Sgurr Ban is an munro in Scotand and is located in the area Loch Maree to Loch Broom as defined by SMC. (and lies in region known as Letterewe / Fisherfield )

8
Average: 8 (2 votes)
Your rating: None

HeightGrid Ref.PronunciationMeaning
989 metres / 3245 feetNH055745Skoor BanWhite rocky peak
LocationAccess
Loch Maree to Loch BroomFisherfield Estate, tel:01445 760302
Letterewe Estate, tel: 01445 760302
Printer-friendly version | |

Details for Sgurr Ban

Sgurr Ban is compact mountain 1½ km north of Mullach Coire Mhic Fhearchair in the eastern part of the Fisherfield Forest. The mountain has steep craggy slopes on the south, north as west and the upper part & summit is covered with quartzite boulders giving it a white looking effect hence the name. The eastern slops are quite moderate

Access is usually from the south via Mullach Coire Mhic Fhearchair or via Sgurr Ban's eastern easy slopes until 600 metre where routes through rocky crags leads to a path to Loch a'Bhraoin. Sgurr Ban is quite a distance from any starting point via a public road, with the shortest from the A832 (NH162760) road where the path leads to Loch a'Bhraoin.

The number of registered munro-madness users who have climbed Sgurr Ban is Thirteen

Brian's picture
Brian marked Sgurr Ban as bagged on Thu 22 Sep 2011
potace's picture
potace marked Sgurr Ban as bagged on Mon 11 Jul 2011
Tim Hawkes's picture
Tim Hawkes marked Sgurr Ban as bagged on Tue 01 Jun 2010
grahammclaren's picture
grahammclaren marked Sgurr Ban as bagged on Mon 31 May 2010
gary's picture
gary marked Sgurr Ban as bagged on Fri 05 Mar 2010
reido_chris_@hotmail.com's picture
reido_chris_@ho... marked Sgurr Ban as bagged on Sun 01 Nov 2009
Terry's picture
Terry marked Sgurr Ban as bagged on Mon 24 Aug 2009
vsheriff's picture
vsheriff marked Sgurr Ban as bagged on Sun 05 Jul 2009
ness64's picture
ness64 marked Sgurr Ban as bagged on Mon 15 Jun 2009
Bill Campbell's picture
Bill Campbell marked Sgurr Ban as bagged on Tue 05 May 2009
stu's picture
stu marked Sgurr Ban as bagged on Fri 03 Apr 2009
Fhuaran's picture
Fhuaran marked Sgurr Ban as bagged on Mon 16 Feb 2009
tony meeson's picture
tony meeson marked Sgurr Ban as bagged on Sun 25 Jan 2009